Please see our FlipBook for Our Curriculum Vision.

The 4 Core Purposes

Below is an overview of the Four Purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  1. ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  2. enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  3. ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  4. healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The new curriculum will include:

6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16

3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

Expressive arts

Health and well-being

Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)

Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)

Mathematics and numeracy

Science and technology (including computer science).

National Curriculum of Wales